Saying goodbye

I’m a realistic person, at least I like to think so.

But sometimes something happens in your life and you start to doubt everything. Tomorrow will be the day that I have to say goodbye to someone, someone who I’ve known for quite some time and for the first time it is someone not from my immediate family and that is difficult.

My best friends’ mother past away last week. I can’t say that it was unexpected or anything. But the speed at which it happens was so quick, I don’t think anyone had expected it to happen this quick. She was sick and in January the doctors gave her a year to two years. However at the end of March she became extremely sick, she couldn’t hold anything down and lost a lot of weight. She contracted a bacteria and on top of that a virus. And no matter what the doctors did nothing helped. And last week she lost her battle.

I want to be there for my friend, but it’s difficult, I have no real experience and I don’t really know what to say or do – except offer my support. I was glad that I was able to see my friends’ mom before she passed away, that she knows that I was there and that she appreciated the fact that I was there. I will remember her radiant smile, despite her sickness her smile lightened up the room.

She was one tough cookie!

Going through something like this also makes you think of the ones you love. Those who are closest to you, in my case my parents, my sister and my grandma are the ones I’m closest too and I couldn’t wait to see them this weekend and give them all a hug. I told them – I don’t know how many times – that I love them.

Tell the people around you that you love them whenever you have the chance.

One thought on “Saying goodbye

Leave a Reply

