Book 1 – Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

2017_gonegirl

A very surprising book!

I have read quite a few crime books and I have encountered a lot of twisted characters in those books, from terrorists to cold blooded murderers. But none of them was as twisted as one of the characters I encountered in this book. Nothing could have prepared me for this.

The title ‘Gone Girl’ tells you all you need to know, a woman disappears into thin air leaving behind a strangely acting husband, an overturned living room and a huge badly cleaned up blood pool on the kitchen floor. To top it off it becomes more and more clear that their marriage wasn’t as good as it should have been. There is mutual anger and resentment between the spouses. They’d been at odds for a while and since both of them lost their job and they moved from New York city to a small town where Nick grew up because his mother was dying. To top it off there were financial troubles and Nick is cheating on his wife with a much younger woman.

Most of the time when I read I use my tablet, just because it’s easier to take with me. I’ve read this book in the train to Rotterdam for example and I took it with me to the library. I remember specifically being at 40% percent of the book when I was wondering where the hell the story was going. At that point I honestly couldn’t figure it out! I was so curious to read more and figure it out, but whatever idea I came up with would have never even come close to the actual story.

What I didn’t know at that time was that I was actually at the breaking point in the story. Within a matter of a few pages the story started to change in a very different direction – very surprising direction I might add. I don’t want to give away too much of the plot, this is one you really need to read or see for yourself. Even if I tried to explain it I could never do it justice.

Book vs. movie

This is a book which has been turned into the film and out of curiosity I choose to watch the movie as well. The thing is that I finished the book before I watched the movie which seems the logical order since the book was written first. It’s always intriguing to see how books and movies compare and I am able to separate the two. I know that a lot of people have trouble separating books and movies but I’m not one of them, I can enjoy both of them and see them for what they are.

The book and the movie are really similar, of course there are some things left out. That happens a lot in movies for obvious reasons, they often only have a hour and a half or two hours to tell the story. The book goes at a slower pace, the movie has a faster pace of course they need to capture the audiences attention in a different manner. While in a book they can take the time to build up the story, a writer can capture so much more than a movie could ever do.

To me the movie was less interesting, which isn’t all that surprising since I read the book and I knew what to expect and I could see all the plot twists coming. I think that if I hadn’t read the book the plot twits would have surprised me just as much as they did while I was reading it. There is no way you can foresee that twisted character development.

2 thoughts on “Book 1 – Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

  1. Tyler Wright says:

    Great review! I also write book reviews, but mainly over nonfiction.

    I really like nonfiction because it allows me to learn the lessons that successful people learned the hard way, from the comfort of where ever I might be reading.

    If you are interested in the nonfiction I have been reading, or if you want to know what the benefits are from reading this genre in specific, please stop by my page. I post book reviews over biographies, classics, and inspiring nonfiction.

    https://thewrightread.com/

Leave a Reply

