January in hindsight

january_2017

Last year I wasn’t really been feeling all that good about myself or where my life is at. Let’s face it, I’m thirty something and when I was younger I had hoped that my life would have been at a certain point and in all honesty that is not the case. And yes, due to some other rather personal stuff I’ve been feeling quite depressed. So I decided that I want to be happy with the things that I do have instead of feeling depressed about things that I don’t have.

And that is the reason for this post. I want to document things I’m grateful for, and this is also part of becoming a better version of myself. However right now this is a learning process and therefor what I do right now might not prove to work for me in future posts but I’ll try to come up with a sort of post that gives me a way to look back on the past month and keep things interesting for you to read.

At the end of this blog I will also add some things which I’m looking forward too in these following months.

Celebrating Christmas

Yes, no worries I am aware of the fact that this post is called January in hindsight and usually you would be right if you say that Christmas is celebrated in December. However in this particular case you are wrong! My sister and her husband made the trip of a lifetime – literally they went on a two month holiday trip to Singapore, New Zealand and Fiji.

They left in November and came back on January 6th so we had to adjust some of our holiday plans to their schedule and for that reason we celebrated Christmas 2016 2.0 on the third weekend of January. It was a really nice way of celebrating Christmas because there was literally no stress. Lets be fair, the holidays are often a very stressful situation because all of the pressure we put on ourselves and our friends and family. We always buy presents for one another, and since they weren’t here before we still had some presents to open. The ones I bought for my sister and brother in law were received with surprise and happiness. I purchased a gift card for a high tea for both my mother and sister. Of course my mother already knew this because I gave her the present in back in December but I had asked her not to say anything to my sister. Which resulted in a very happy sister who loved the idea of going on a high tea with my mother and I. Now all we have to do is set a date and actually go to Den Bosch for a nice Sunday shopping and having a high tea. That’ll probably make another nice post for a city trip, after all Den Bosch is a city with beautiful old buildings. Which brings me to the next part of this blogpost.

City trip

My first city trip post was written about Rotterdam, my first real visit to the city and it’s beautiful Markthal building. Read all about it in my blog about Rotterdam, you can find it over here.

Reading and writing

I haven’t written as much as I would have liked but I’m getting better at it. My first post was one about my ideas for 2017 and beyond, you can read it here. In which I explained that there are quite a couple of things I want to change about myself and my life and I also gave some hints about how I’m planning on achieving those goals. Most of the month however consisted of some drafts for future posts and little else.

In my city trip post I’ve also mentioned some books which I purchased at the book fair and which will – if everything goes as planned – show up here on this blog in the near future in the form of a book review for my 2017 Reading Challenge. The book I’ve been reading during this past month is ‘Gone Girl’ by Gillian Flynn and ‘Monkeewrench’ by P.J. Tracy. Two books which I hope to finish this month, so I better get back to reading! ‘Gone Girl’ shouldn’t be a problem, though the other book might proof a little bit more difficult because there is a bigger part of the book I still need to read.

Projects around the house

One of the best things I did for myself is trade in my old desktop computer for a laptop. Finally I was able to get rid of that huge desk I had because all I needed is a place to put the laptop down. I have rearranged some things in my living room and it looks amazing. It looks more and more like a grown up apartment and less like the room of someone who’s still trying to be a student even though those days have long gone.

So out with the old and in with the new, a new desk with a black glass table top combined with the really funky leather orange chair looks amazing. I’ve also bought some new decorations for the window sill, which looks beautiful and the fun part was that all the changes I made were really affordable but the result is huge!

And to top it off, I’ve finally painted my bathroom wall and ceiling, a job which had to be done for at least a year which I kept pushing forward.

Looking ahead:

    Lindsey Stirling – My first concert of 2017, 013 – Tilburg March 17th.
    High Tea with my mom and sister – my Christmas present to them both, we still have to come up with a date but it’ll probably be in March.
    Pinkpop 2017 – more names should be announced soon! I really want to go!
    Planning a vacation! So many choices, so many places to visit!
Leave a Reply

