Another Nanowrimo update

nanowrimo-2016

Yes, the second Nanowrimo update in two days time. How good is that! Pretty damn good, I reckon.

Like I said in yesterdays post we are currently sitting in the Ikea with what I would like to call the core group of our Nanowrimo writers group also known as The Epic Blue Unicorn. Don’t ask it’s a long story and hardly anyone can remember where it came from anyway. It’s just a fun name we gave ourselves.

Anyway we’re sitting in the Restaurant area of our local Ikea and we have been here since one in the afternoon and we’re planning on staying for a little while longer. Probably until they kick us out of the restaurant because it’s closing time. But before that happens we still have some time left to keep typing and adding words to our stories or at least to our accumulated word count, as it is in my case.

And it’s going well! I had no idea what to write and one of my writing buddies gave me a really simple prompt right before November started and at first – I liked it, but it’s pretty far out of my comfort zone – I didn’t know what to do with it.  But it did spark an idea for a short story in me and I’ve been thinking about it for the past week. Some ideas were there immediately but I wasn’t sure in which format I wanted to place the story.  However during the last half of this past week the story started to gain momentum in my mind and I actually started writing it on Friday and I continued writing it today and at this point the story is about a thousand words long. I’ll probably finish it long before I even reach five-thousand words but at least it’s a story and it’s an original one and no fan fiction which is great. It’s honestly awesome. I just hope that the story will be as funny as I imagine it. When I visualize it in my mind it something similar to a Pixar movie, something along the lines of  ‘Finding Nemo’ or ‘A Bug’s Life’. So I hope I can translate that into a short story. If you know me, or my writing – the fan fiction stories I’ve done in the past or the ideas I’ve had for Nano novels – you know that I have never before written anything that could remotely look like a Pixar movie. I don’t know how to explain this but that’s okay. I’m writing!

I might eventually post it here since I wouldn’t really know what else to do with a short story. It’s not like they are easily publishable unless you have a whole collection of them – then you could maybe publish them as a collection of short stories. But this story is something so far out of my comfort zone, that I don’t think that I will write more stories in the same type of genre. We’ll see though, who knows what the future will bring, maybe I’ve finally found what I’m good at when it comes to writing. Or does that sound really arrogant?
So the writing is going really well at the moment and reason for that is that I’m not home alone. I love not being at home while I’m writing. The sounds around me calm me and while I spend time looking around, just randomly watching people as they interact it’ll also makes me write more words in short bursts. It works kind of similar like a word war only I’m not timing myself or pushing a certain amount of words. Anyway not being at home alone makes me a lot more productive when it comes to writing. I often go somewhere else during the weekends when I want to write it even works really well for me when I want to read something, especially when the weather is as crappy as it has been today. It’s grey, foggy and raining all day long and no one has seen a spark of sunlight or blue skies for that matter. I really dislike this weather and when I’m at home most of what I see when I’m sitting behind my computer is the sky and the rooftops of the houses across the street and the occasional tree which has already lost all of the previously gorgeous red colored leafs. Not really a motivational sight for someone who’s not really a fan of the fall anyway.

I guess that I’m one of those people who struggle with fall depression! I really dislike the fact that it’s dark when we wake up, dark when I arrive at work and again dark when I finally get ready to go home. No, fall is really not my favorite season – except for those few short weeks when the sun’s shining and the leafs turn all kinds of beautiful colors. Then again if Nanowrimo was held in another month the struggle to write the 50k words would have been a lot harder for me and I think a lot of other participants as well. In the spring and summer there is so much more to do and I personally love spending time outside whenever I can but with this weather that certainly isn’t a problem.

Anyway working at the Ikea Restaurant works perfectly for me. It’s quite funny to note that a lot of people aren’t here for furniture shopping. There are more people around us are sitting here working on their computers. Next to us a group of seventeen year old girls who seem to be playing a game of sorts, I honestly have no idea what they are doing.  It looks like they have formed two teams,  for some reason every time they walk away with a piece of paper on which Ikea furniture is portrayed and from what I’ve seen so far they apparently have to track the furniture down within a certain time limit to gain points or something along those lines.

Another thing which makes Ikea a great place for a Nanomeet – and a good tip for other Nano groups – is the food!  Spending the afternoon here means that you can eat lunch and dinner for ten Euros total and of course you can refill that caffeine booster whenever you need to especially if you have a family member card because then the coffee and tea is completely free. And we all know that most Nano participants are completely addicted and need at least a few caffeine short to get through their writing session.

Unfortunately we are now nearing closing time and soon we will be asked to leave which is a shame because I’m really in the flow of writing at this moment maybe I’ll write some more once I’m home.

For now this is me signing off after a very productive weekend, I’ve probably added 50% to my word count this weekend. Which still means that I’m far, far behind on schedule, but that’s okay.

This was one productive weekend and when I get home I’m gonna play some games, watch television or read a book.

Leave a Reply

