Book 4 – Criminal by Karin Slaughter

2016-book4

Choosing to read this book is such a typical thing for me. I love reading books, but I never really take notice of things which could be important information. Like this being the sixth book in a series for instance. So typical of me – insert roll-eyes here – anyway so I have a lot of books by Karin Slaughter. Chances are that I have the whole or at least a big part of the Will Trent Series and I know that these are books which are part of a series but I simply didn’t check it before I started reading the book.

The other thing is that I started reading this book on January 28th. Nope, that’s not this years January 28th but last years. And I finished reading on June 10th, so that’s well over one year, five months and thirteen days later or in total 529 days! Had I set myself the goal of reading a page a day I would have finished sooner. That must be a record! I’ve never claimed to be a quick reader but this certainly is bordering on ridiculous. For some reason, which I can’t explain it didn’t work – and by no means does this have anything to do with the book – I just couldn’t sit down and focus on reading it. Weirdly enough January 28th was also around the time when I became a member of GoodReads so in fact this book was one of the books I was reading when I became a member and started participating in the Reading Challenge.

Anyway let’s get on with this review, like I said my lack in finishing this book literally had nothing to do with the book itself, it’s a great book to read. Honestly I would recommend this book, ‘Criminal’ to anyone. It’s a very interesting story set over the course of forty years, part of it playing out in the past and part of it in the here and now. And that is part of the charm of this story, you get an inside look into some of the characters past and what makes them tick. I love how Karin Slaughter says that this is a Will Trent story but doesn’t shy away from allowing other characters their spot in the limelight. The majority of the story is being carried by Amanda and Evelyn.

Another interesting part of the story – in my opinion – was the insight you get into the workings of a Police Station the the 1970’s. Especially the way women were treated on the force as well as the rivalry between Caucasian cops and Afro-American cops. I love stories with strong female characters and this story certainly gave me that. We see some great character development especially in Amanda – who’s now Will Trent’s boss. But in the past she was the young female cop who struggled to work a murder case.

I know that a lot of people don’t agree with me – I’ve read some of the reviews on GoodReads in regards to ‘Criminal’ – but I loved the 1970 parts. It made the story that much more interesting to me, especially since you kept switching back and forth between then and now and slowly you see the pieces of the puzzle connecting with one another.

Anyway since I don’t want to give any details away I’ll give you the recommendation to read this book and I’ll leave this review here while I go in search of another story to add to my GoodReads Reading Challenge.

So here it is, my latest review of a book which I’ve read a little while back but still hadn’t added to my reviews. I still have a lot of unread books lying around in my apartment so I should be able to read a couple of books before the second half of this year is over. See you soon for another book review.

Leave a Reply

