Nanowrimo 2016

nanowrimo-2016

Usually right around this time of the year you would have seen at least a couple of Nanowrimo related blog posts on my blog. It’s November first and if you’ve been following me for a while you might have missed that excited prep period. At least I hope you did miss them?

Every year since 2009 I’ve been participating in Nanowrimo (National Novel Writing Month), but this year has been a little different for me. Each year during my summer holiday – usually right in the middle of August I start thinking of a story and the prep stage starts. During August it’s usually just thinking about a story. During September I make the first steps towards writing the information I gathered down and the real prep starts. During October I’ve usually gathered enough information to be able to start writing once November first comes around.

However as many of you might have noticed I haven’t really been posting anything since before the summer started. Reason for that is that I took a break, initially I thought that it would be a couple of weeks – a month at the most. This past year writing became a task – something I had to force myself to sit down and get some words written, part of that had to do with the fact that I used my writing to work through some situations that occurred last year. Hence writing became something connected to a lot of negativity and not something I received joy from. I needed to find that joy back and since it was not happening by forcing myself to write something and that was my initial reason to take a break. But that little break became a lot longer than I had expected.

In all honesty it hasn’t been just the blog writing that has been lacking, I haven’t been writing at all. Nothing, nada … not a single word. At least nothing that wasn’t required in some shape of form.

I used to love writing, it would take my mind away from my worries. It made me happy. But due to the very stressful situation I was in last year and some personal issues I’ve been struggling with my creativity. I’ve been feeling down and blocked and it’s really hard to write when you feel that way. Whenever I watched a television show I used to be able to come up with a missing scene or I could hear a song and make a story out of it. But nowadays nothing seems to inspire me and that has been a real struggle. So I haven’t been doing any prepping. Nonetheless I did decide that I was going to sign up for Nanowrimo this year as well. It’s a thing and I have a great group of friends who meet up every Friday in the library during November. We’ll just see what happens, maybe I’ll get my shit together somehow and I’ll actually get some writing done. I need to get that spark back. For my own sake, because the way I’ve been feeling isn’t good. I need to get my shit together.

The only problem is that I have no idea what I want to write or what I’m going to write about for that matter. I have no idea, no plot, no characters, not even a simple idea. Nothing … So I’ll be a rebel this year – I’ve been a rebel most years with writing fanfiction and all that. But since it’s November first I better get some writing done so that is why I’m writing this blog post. Because any writing is good writing and this will definitively go in my word count for this month. I need to turn my life around, for my own sake I need to get my creativity back and if this is the year where I can make it through Nanowrimo by adding up literally every single word I write this month, so be it.

But who knows maybe the excited Nanowrimo posts will come once this month is on it’s way and I somehow find my spark back.

If you’re going to participate in Nanowrimo let me know, if you have a blog post the link in the comments and I will follow you. I love to hear how other people are doing during Nanowrimo.Save

Leave a Reply

