FutureLearn – Start writing Fiction 2

StartWritingFiction

Turn on the radio and take note of the first thing that is mentioned. Use it as the basis for either the start of a story or an entire story – whichever, it should be no more than 500 words. Imagine a character, someone who is central to what the story is about. Try to use clear, vivid language so that your reader can see the character. Use some of the characterization techniques we have talked about so far.

Taken from FutureLearn – Start writing Fiction -Week 2.17
When I turned the radio on Adele’s ‘Make you feel my love’ was playing.

The cold harsh wind blew into my face every now and then a wave of raindrops pounded against me, mixing with my salty tears. I didn’t know what brought me here, to this sandy beach in this type of weather. Not a single soul was in sight. This was the type of weather that made every single person stick to the comfort and warmth of their home. However to me that was exactly what had pushed my outside.
The way I felt seemed to line up with the weather conditions. The raging winds seemed to mimic my thoughts and part of me hoped that standing here would blow away every thought of you. Over the past couple of days it had became crystal clear that I couldn’t make you love me. Especially since you would never see me as a potential love interest. So in a way I was giving up, however this was not the cowards way out. It was because I simply had no choice. Giving up was the hardest thing I’d ever done, but it was impossible to fight against unrequited love.
I was letting you go. Even if that meant that I would never find that happiness for myself. Chances were, that in the future I would be confronted with your new love on your arm.
Which was in all honesty a ridiculous thought, because I had never had the pleasure of being your old love to begin with. All I had were my dreams of you giving your love to me, ridiculous figments as it had turned out.
I pushed my hands deep into my coat’s pockets, the cold wind and rain had chilled them to the bone. My salty tears were still rolling down my cheeks and mixing with the raindrops falling from the dark gray clouds rushing along a lighter tinted gray sky.
When I first laid eyes on you I knew that you were special, that you were the one for me. But the further into our friendship we got it became clear that you would never feel the same way for me. My love would forever be unrequited because you are a woman, Dominique.
I stood there looking out over the swirling waves with whitecaps. I didn’t realize it until the first wave crashed over my shoes, effectively soaking my feet that I had been here for a long time in the cold sea-wind.
Suddenly I realized that the wet cold had penetrated my heavy black coat and was now seeping into the layer of clouting underneath. Before the realization hit me I had been unaware but now I started to shiver uncontrollably.
It was time to go back home, in search of warmth and comfort. It wasn’t a long walk but by the time I arrived I could only think of one thing, getting warm again. As soon as the door closed behind me I started to shed my clothes on the tiled floor. Steaming hot water emerged from the faucet taking away every thought of Dominique as it escaped down the drain. Right before I stepped underneath the cascading scalding hot water I slipped out of my panties and bra and allowed the water to submerge me and my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

