FutureLearn – Start writing Fiction

StartWritingFiction

I signed up for a writing course, so far – in the past – most things I’ve learned were done by following what books said or what other writers explained on the internet either through their websites or youtube videos. Through the years little by little I’ve come up with a way that works for me when I’m developing a story. However I’m always looking for a way to develop my skills, I believe that writing as a lot of other creative endeavors are skills which you continuously need to be work on.

One of my fellow ‘Epic Blue Unicorns’ (that’s the name we gave our writers-group) told us about FutureLearn – a concept which I had never heard off in all honesty and after having taken single look at the website I was sold. I knew that this was something I would be using in the near future.

We (FutureLearn) offer a diverse selection of courses from leading universities and cultural institutions from around the world. These are delivered one step at a time, and are accessible on mobile, tablet and desktop, so you can fit learning around your life.

We believe learning should be an enjoyable, social experience, so our courses offer the opportunity to discuss what you’re learning with others as you go, helping you make fresh discoveries and form new ideas.

Taken from the FutureLearn website.

One problem though, there is too much to choose from! I want to take about every other course. For now I’ve settled to do two courses, both of them started on the 18th of January. One is ‘Start writing Fiction’ and the other one is called ‘Crossmedia Storytelling’.

FutureLearn-courses

Start Writing Fiction

I started working on ‘Start Writing Fiction’ almost immediately, I was really curious what they had to tell us and I’m always looking for ways to improve my writing. The way you learn is partly through reading, watching videos or listening to audio, doing assignments and reading through comments and commenting on posts by other people who are taking the course with you. At the end of the week’s assignments you are tested, you take a short quiz.

The thing I’m not so good at but is essential the course is to communicate with other people who are participating as well. That is definitively something I need to work on.

Anyway, I should continue working on my courses because at the moment I’m way behind. With good reason since I also started my new job this week but that doesn’t mean I can slack off on other things in my life.

In the future you might find some posts including some of the various course assignments. If you are interested in one of the writing courses or any of other very interesting FutureLearn courses you should come and join. It’s interesting and you can still start the courses even if they’ve already started. 

Leave a Reply

