Book 1 – Sollicitatiegesprekken doe je zo by Aaltje Vincent

2016-book1

After last years ‘2015 Reading Challenge‘ I’ve decided to do it again this year. And like last year I signed up for 50 books, still I don’t think I will reach that goal because it’s quite a lot. But it keeps me on my toes about reading and moving forwards to at least make a good effort. I hope to at least surpass the 22 books I read last year. And I still have a lot of books laying around my apartment waiting for me to pick them up and read them.

The first book I read this year was a book named ‘Sollicitatiegesprekken doe je zo’ by Aaltje Vincent. I don’t read a whole lot of Dutch books, but sometimes I have no choice either because I have a Dutch copy of the book. However this was one of those books that proves to be quite difficult to review in English simply because I know that there is no use to do so. If I translate the title correctly it says ‘Job interviews, this is how to do them’ and that really says it all.

It’s a Dutch book focused on the Dutch job-market and how to prepare for job interviews written by Aaltje Vincent. She is a Dutch job-coach who trains people to find that new dream job. She has written a couple of different books on the subject of jobhunting. She was recommended to me by a job-coach at the job-agency in my city. You are required to register with them as soon as you are out of a job. I never had been in this situation before and in all honesty I was quite overwhelmed and I didn’t know where to start. Besides that with the economical crises of these last couple of years a lot has changed on the job-market. The woman at the job-agency recommended a couple of different websites to me and among them was Aaltje Vincents’ website. I read a couple of different articles on the website and decided that I wanted to read this book.

I started reading the book on January first, it only took me three days to finish it. First and foremost because I suddenly had a job-interview planned for the fourth of January and I wanted to read this book before that job interview and secondly because it is a very easy read. Especially for the type of book it is and the topic it describes, which – let’s be honest can be a bit of a drag. It really goes into detail and gives you good advice – some of the advice seem rather obvious however I am realistic enough to know that what seems obvious to me might not be obvious to other people – yet at the same time it doesn’t get boring and there is enough room for funny cartoons and stories. If you’re Dutch or if you are looking for a job in the Netherlands this book definitively gives you good advice on how to approach those interviews.

Personally my situation is quite unique (I know a lot of people will claim that, but trust me without going into details this is a unique situation) and therefor I didn’t have a ‘regular’ job-interview, so in my case a lot of the information I read in the book was not suitable. But I can definitively see why this book could be very helpful in most cases. Besides that information like this is never lost and you can apply it on different situations besides job-interviews.

I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a new job and has to do job-interviews in the Netherlands.

***

Niet vaak komt het voor dat ik een Nederlands boek lees, en nog minder vaak gebeurd het dat het betreffende boek alleen in het Nederlands verkrijgbaar is. Maar dit boek is zo specifiek dat het alleen voor de Nederlandse markt verkrijgbaar is. Het gaat immers over de Nederlandse banenmarkt en sollicitatiegesprekken.

Vandaar dat ik ervoor kies om voor een keer de review ook in het Nederlands te plaatsen. Ik heb het er al vaker over gehad het afgelopen jaar is heel moeilijk geweest en uiteindelijk heeft dat erin geresulteerd dat ik zonder baan kwam te staan. Een hele vervelende situatie maar ook een situatie waar ik persoonlijk niks aan kon doen faillissement.

En dan komt het moment dat je weer op zoek moet naar ander werk, en ik weet van mezelf dat ik geen held ben in dit soort gesprekken en dat ik dus alle hulp kan gebruiken. Als je werkeloos bent dan ben je in Nederland verplicht je aan te melden bij het UWV. Tijdens een gesprek met een jobcoach heb ik een aantal verschillende namen en website adressen gekregen waarvan ze dacht dat die mij zouden kunnen helpen bij het zoeken naar een nieuwe baan. Een van die namen was Aaltje Vincent. Ik heb de website bezocht en een aantal artikelen gelezen, en ben meteen begonnen met het volgen van Aaltje Vincent op Twitter. Er komen vaak zeer bruikbare tips en interessante links voorbij. Zeker een aanrader om te volgen als je op zoek bent naar een nieuwe baan.

Via de website heb ik de keuze voor dit boek gemaakt, het leek mij zeer geschikt voor iemand die met minimale ervaring sollicitatie-interviews moet aangaan. Het boek heb ik ontvangen als een kerstcadeau, maar door de drukte van de feestdagen was ik er nog niet in begonnen toen ik plots op vier januari een sollicitatiegesprek had. Uiteindelijk heb ik het boek in drie dagen uitgelezen. In eerste instantie omdat het een makkelijk te lezen boek is. Ondanks het nogal zware onderwerp want zoeken naar een nieuwe baan is vaak niet leuk is het een toch een boek wat goed weg leest. Ten tweede word de tekst voorzien van cases uit het bedrijfsleven en af en toe een grappige anekdote of cartoon. Sommige van de tips kwamen op mij over als logisch maar ik ben realistisch genoeg om te begrijpen dat wat voor mij logisch is voor anderen misschien toch iets wat even extra benoemd moet worden. Iedereen is uiteraard anders en heeft een andere kijk op het leven.

Gezien de uniek situatie waarin ik mij bevond, had ik geen tijd om de opdrachten uit te voeren en daarnaast wist ik ook dat het gesprek wat ik aanging niet bepaald een ‘gewone’ sollicitatie zou zijn. In mijn geval heb ik niet uit het boek kunnen halen wat een ander er misschien uit kan halen maar het heeft me wel geholpen. En ik zou dit boek zeker aanraden aan andere mensen. Want ik weet zeker dat iedereen die een baan zoekt er baad bij kan hebben.

Reviews in English as well as in Dutch are only going to be posted if it is necessary.

 

Leave a Reply

