Book 20 – Yes please by Amy Poehler

yesplease-amypoehlerI set myself the goal of reading more books, because it’s one of those thing I love to do but didn’t spend a whole lot of time on. I had a huge amount of books at my apartment but I never got around to reading them. I set the goal for myself to read 50 books, a huge amount which I knew I would never make. There is a reason why I set the goal so high, I’m a procrastinator when it comes to these things and setting the goal high meant that I had to start as soon as I could. This is the 20th book I’ve read this year and in all honesty I believe that is probably 19 books more than I read last year. But it’s December and there is no way I’ll make it. I didn’t read anything during November, for obvious reasons I was focused with Nanowrimo and dealing with a lot of personal crap which consumed most of my time.

Since I started reading this book ‘Yes please’ by Amy Poehler in the last week of August this is the book that took the longest time for me to complete. By all means that has nothing to do with the book. I’ve just been reading several books at the same time and an autobiography is the easiest one to put aside. Especially this one, it’s not a continues story of Amy Poehler’s life, it’s more compilation of personal stories with a funny undertone which you can read and put aside when needed.

Amy Poehler is one of those people who is extremely funny – in my opinion – I really like her! Even if you don’t know who she is, it’s very likely you’ve seen some of her sketches from SNL. For instance the sketches where Amy Poehler and Tina Fey portray Hillary Clinton and  Sarah Palin running for office. Or maybe you have seen them to the presentation of the Golden Globes, which they did more than once. If not, take a look at this video – take a look anyway I think it’s pretty funny.

There are a lot of different parts of this book which I loved, but the thing that really hit me was the most perfect quote that could have read last week – in regards to the position that I’m in right now. It was as if she was talking to me – if you skip the famous part – directly. It was so perfect.

‘Good or bad, the reality is most people become “famous” or get “great jobs” after a very, very long tenure shoveling shit and not because they handed their script to someone on the street.’ – Amy Poehler

I guess it was what I needed to hear at that exact point in time.

If you can laugh at the jokes that this multi-talented comedian, writer, presenter, actor, director, producer, voice-artist and now also author of her own book makes, you can laugh while reading this book. I can highly recommend it, this book really made me laugh out loud. And I had people looking at me like I was crazy, but who cares. I was having fun.

 

2 thoughts on “Book 20 – Yes please by Amy Poehler

Leave a Reply

