Preparation is key – part II

Nanowrimo 2015 ParticipantLike I said in my previous post – Preparation is key – in my case the preparation really is the most important part of the process. I know that I can do the writing that ain’t the problem – I mean I’m not claiming that I’m good at it, just that I know how to do it. The problem is that while I’m writing I keep coming up with better ideas, which means that a lot of my writing ends up in the dumpster – so to say. And that’s a shame because there are a lot of hours I put into it, a lot of time spend sitting behind my computer fleshing out the scenes. And I knew that if I ever want to finish a story I have to start at the right place to really give it a chance to become as good as I can make it.

So in September I started thinking about my story (that’s not completely true I’ve been thinking of this story ever since November ended) – of course I’m doing a re-write so I already knew some of the changes I wanted to make in regards to last years version. At the same time it was also really clear to me that I needed more changes to make the story even more interesting and appealing.

Which is why I was reading through the book ‘Outlining your Novel’ and the ‘Outlining your Novel workbook’ by K.M. Weiland. I really like reading through the books, there were obviously things which I already knew but sometimes you just need that step by step explanation to get to the point of the matter. It also helps when the examples given are of a more modern nature – Star Wars, The Hunger Games and some movies that I’ve seen. Often – in other books – I’ve seen examples given by using the classic novels – I love reading yet I have to admit that I have never really read the big classic novels. So using those novels as examples doesn’t always work at least not for me.

About two weeks ago I came down with the flu and I had to stay home for about a week before I was feeling well enough to go back to work. During that week I was able to work on my outline and think about the scenes I want to use in my book. And I think that at this point I’m about half-way through the outline of this book. And I’m really excited to really start working on this story, I really feel like this could be an interesting story to tell.

Another part of preparation – The Nano Kick-off party!

Yesterday, October 24th was the day we held our national kick-off, in Utrecht like we always do. It was a really well-organized meeting. The only downside for me was that since I’ve been sick my voice has been really bad and during the afternoon and evening my voice became more and more of a problem. So it was pretty hard to talk to people – which meant that I basically kept to the people who I already knew. Nevertheless I did have a great afternoon, I enjoyed myself and I’m really glad that I went.

I also participated in the ‘care package exchange’, it was the first time that I actually took part in it and I really enjoyed myself.  I found some really practical, cute things to add to it.  When I arrived the Dutch ML’s (municipal liaisons) started laughing – the reason was that the person who made my package for me used the exact same wrapping paper as I did for my package.

The only downside is that the person who made my package is really testing my patience … it says that I can’t open it before November 1st. So I guess, I’m going to have to wait a little while longer.

There are only seven days left before Nanowrimo starts! Are you going to participate? What are you going to write about?

Leave a Reply

