Book 19 – Outlining Your Novel by K.M. Weiland

Outlining your Novel - K.M. WeilandI started reading this book with a mission in mind. As you can tell by this blog I’m once again going to participate in Nanowrimo this November. October has started and I have started my preparation as I’ve told in my last post was about Nanoprep ‘The countdown has started’. Given all that information I’m pretty sure that you can figure out why I started reading this book.

My reason and goal is to learn how to make an outline for a story, in this case an outline to help me figure out where my . Since I started out as a fanfiction writer and just a very basic idea is enough to get your story going. So there wasn’t really any need to outline –  or so I thought. Although I have to admit that I would have probably done a lot better had I used an outline for my fanfics. Because I just keep adding to the stories and I never really finish them because there is simply no ending. At any given time there are too many ideas floating around and too many story-lines to ever really finish them. Which is a whole different matter and I hope that I will get back to those stories one day, however that is not the reason why I’m writing this review.

For a while I have been reading the blog written by K.M. Weiland. Which is something I’ve really enjoyed doing so when I saw this novel and especially the topic, I needed to have it because I felt like it could teach me exactly what I needed to know or at least give me some pointers I could use during this month of preparations to get a real outline down before Nanowrimo starts.

It’s a really easy to read book with examples from books and movies throughout the years. For instance there are examples from movies like Star Wars and The Hunger Games but also from books like Wuthering Heights, which really helps with the explanation of the process of creating and outline step by step.

I really enjoyed reading this book and if you – like me – are struggling with making an outline I can really recommend this book. I also have the workbook, which gives you the assignments to create your outline one step at a time. Which is what I’m working on right now.

3 thoughts on “Book 19 – Outlining Your Novel by K.M. Weiland

Leave a Reply

