The 2015 Reading Challenge

Quirk-Books - How to Read A BookThis year was going to be the year I was going to do things differently. Isn’t that what we promise ourselves at the start of every year? That’s exactly what it is, I guess you could call it a sort of New Years resolution. Especially since that was exactly when I made this decision. Though I really hate that term, for me a New Years resolution is synonym for failure. Most of the time that is what happens after all… and in a way I can’t deny that this is a failure as well. Chances are that you might think about it that way, seeing how it’s already August and I am no where near half way through my challenge.

I signed up at Goodreads for the 2015 Reading Challenge with fifty books, which is a huge number of books and I knew beforehand that it was going to be hard to achieve that amount of books in just twelve months,  if not completely impossible. Due to the fact that with seven and a half months down and only thirteen books read so far I guess it’s safe to say that I won’t make it. I won’t make my goal, not by a long shot.

Yet, I can’t think of it as failure since I have met every other goal in this challenge that I set for myself. For years I had collected a lot of books but due to all kinds of excuses I was never taking the time to actually sit down and read them. This year however thanks to this challenge I somehow found the spare time to do it. I read a variety of books, both in English as well as in Dutch. And I might even try and read a book in German, I know the language well enough to understand and speak and I think that I can actually manage to understand it while I read it too. My biggest challenge when I had German lessons in school was with the whole ‘der’, ‘die’ and ‘das’ thing.

Although I have to admit that reading in Dutch was quite the adjustment for me, even if that is my first language. In all honesty before this year, I can’t even recall the last time I read a Dutch book. So maybe reading a German book isn’t that easy either. Anyway that’ll be something I’ll worry about at a later time.

The books I read so far vary a lot, both of the dutch books were books I received as a present with other books I bought. They do that over here once a year or so to promote reading – buy a book, get one for free written by one of the Dutch big name authors. Both of the books are novella’s, short stories. I had them for a long time, years even I never really got around to reading them.

The Death Note book, is an originally Japanese manga translated into English. Some people might call it a comic but they are wrong. It was actually the first manga I’ve ever read. I’m not sure if it’s for me though.

I read a book by Tess Gerritsen, who is one of my favorite authors. I simply love Rizzoli & Isles, both the books as well as the television show. Even if there is really no comparison between the two. This book however was really the least favorite book of Tess Gerritsen I’ve read so far. I know that this particular book is not a R&I book but that is how I got to know and love this author. If you like authors like Tess Gerritsen and Karin Slaughter, you’ll also like Dean Koontz. Who’s book Velocity I read.

Yet most of my time these past months have been spend reading ‘The Tomorrow Series’ by John Marsden. The first books, the start of the series, was a book which I read when I was fourteen. A book which always stayed with me and now I’m finally able to read the rest of the story. I’m currently reading the sixth book in the series. After this there is only one book left apart from the three books which have the same main character, Ellie, but take part in a later stage of her life after the war ended I presume.

And of course lets not forget the most ‘controversial’ books on my list of books read for this year, the second and the third book in the ‘Fifty Shades’ trilogy. Granted I still have that third book to finish but still.

Leave a Reply

