Book 6 – Fifty Shades Darker by E.L. James

fiftyshadesdarker-eljamesLike I stated in my previous post related to this subject, this would be the next book I was going to review so here it is. I actually finished the book on April 5th, however I wasn’t able to find the time to write this review since it’s pretty elaborated.

The movie ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ is what got me back into actually reading this book. I read the first book back when it came out because I was curious, like so many other people. I wanted to know what all the fuss was about. I’m not going to repeat myself here because I have already  stated why I was so curious.  And the reason as to why I wanted to read this story is already explained in the post ‘Fifty Shades of Whatever’.

In that post I also stated why I had trouble finishing the first book. It was a visualization problem, I am a very imaginative person and when I read I visualize everything. Knowing that this was originally a ‘Twilight fanfiction’ didn’t work for me at all in fact I’m pretty sure that it worked completely against me. I’m really not impressed by the acting skills of the Twilight cast and imagining them in the roles of Anastasia and Christian really didn’t work.

After seeing the movie – and especially the top notch acting skills of Dakota Johnson and Jamie Dornan I wanted to read what else was in store for these two and in the following movies. Curiosity, right?

Honestly, personally I thought that this book was more interesting than the first one. Now, I’m not one of those drooling fangirls, who thinks that it is an awesome book – the best they ever read but I can’t deny that it is quite entertaining. Like I said better than the first one. In the first book the focus was on the sex, the BDSM and all that kind of stuff. In my opinion the focus laid too much on that part and not enough on the rest. In this second book there is more character development. There are reveals made about Christian’s past, which partly explains his way of reasoning and the way he reacts the way he reacts to specific situations. And I think that there is still a lot more to learn.

The story

‘Fifty Shades Darker’ continues immediately after the end of the first book. Ana has just left Christian after that whole ordeal in the Red Room which was supposed to show her what it this whole BDSM thing is about. Ana is a wreck, just like Christian. Both are miserable. Of course you know that they’ll get back together again,  I mean there is no reason to write the book if they wouldn’t.

When they do – it becomes obvious that Christian has done some thinking. In fact he seems to be a changed man. He promises Ana that he can give her what she needs and that he doesn’t need her to be a submissive. It’s hard to believe that a man is able to change what has been a huge part of his life for such a long time. At the same time he himself has been on either side of the line being a submissive as well as a dom, he knows what it’s like. And he wants Ana in his life and maybe, just maybe that is enough for him. At least for now.

It’s not the best book I’ve ever read or anything but it’s entertaining and it’s not as bad as some people claim, neither is it as explicit as some people claim. Comments like that always make me laugh. If it’s not your cup of tea don’t read it or don’t watch it, no one is making you after all. And if you decide to not read or watch it refrain from commenting as if you know what happens. In most cases it’s pretty obvious to the people who have read it and seen it that you haven’t and it makes you look kind of …. (please fill in the blank yourself).

The Inner Goddess

There is one thing about the books though that really annoys me … so much so that I really needed to address it here. I can’t believe it, I actually forgot about it. How is that even possible?

I’m pretty sure everyone has that inner voice, cautioning you for something that might turn out badly or whatever. Or maybe it might be just me who has that inner voice of reason and the joke’s on me. But seriously calling that voice of reason an Inner Goddess just sounds over the top and unnecessary.

Here are some examples of said Inner Goddess;

“My inner goddess has her pom-poms in hand — she’s in cheerleading mode.” <<< Right, that makes sense … perfect sense.

“My inner goddess has a DO NOT DISTURB sign on the outside of her room.” <<< WHAT??? It might be time for a padded room …

“My inner goddess is doing backflips in a routine worthy of a Russian Olympic gymnast.” <<< Sure, why not … she does everything else.

These are by the way examples from the first book, not the book I’m talking about here but still the same thing happens in the second and since I’ve read the first 123 pages of the third book I can confirm that she’s around for the third book as well. You can not believe how happy I was when I didn’t see this in the movie. Because that would have been bad … really bad.

I was kind of curious if it was just me who was annoyed by the Inner Goddess and turns out I wasn’t the only one, not by  a long shot. There are actually complete blog posts devoted to the Inner Goddess. Here is one that really cracked me up, it literally states every single thing the Inner Goddess does. And it’s ridiculous!

Here is a small little disclaimer, that blogpost on Cosmopolitan is where I took the examples from. I didn’t look them up myself.

2 thoughts on “Book 6 – Fifty Shades Darker by E.L. James

Leave a Reply

