Book 1 – Gravity by Tess Gerritsen

gravity-tessgerritsenRight before the end of the year I posted the 2015 Reading Challenge.

I love to read but I usually don’t really take the time to sit down and pick up a book even if I have quite the collection. There are books in my apartment which I’ve bought but never read and I am going to make up for that. If a challenge is the thing to get me to actually read well so be it.

Gravity – Tess Gerritsen

Tess Gerritsen is an author from whom I’ve read a couple of books, both in Dutch and in English. Of course Dutch is my first language but for years I’ve been reading and writing so much English that it sometimes feels more familiar to me. This particular book I’ve read in English.

Most of the books by Tess Gerritsen I’ve read have been part of the ‘Rizzoli & Isles’ series (which were the books that inspired the television show even if they are completely different). Besides that the books which I read previously all were kind of similar. About detectives, police work and killers who you can actually catch and see. In this case however the killer is the kind which you can’t see. The story takes place in space, at least large part of it. The most important part of it is at ISS, the International Space Station which makes for quite a small area in which a lot happens and like I said an invincible killer on the loose. If you want to know how that works out – especially knowing that Tess Gerritsen doesn’t write about supernatural things – you should read the book.

The fact that the story is taking place in space and at NASA is also the one thing which makes this story kind of difficult to read because of the vast amount of acronyms used in the book. Which is no real surprise since NASA is often referred to as the ‘National Acronym Slinging Agency’. There is a glossary in the back of the book and I can tell you that I have been going back and forth between the story and the glossary quite a lot. I’m not really into the whole space travel thing so besides NASA and ISS the acronyms were unfamiliar to me.

Even if this book is not my favorite and it took me a while to get into the story I have to admit that the further I got into it the more interesting and appealing it became to read on and figure out what happened. There is however quite a big change that I will be reading another book by Tess Gerritsen this year, I still have one or two laying around which I have not yet read.

One thought on “Book 1 – Gravity by Tess Gerritsen

Leave a Reply

