Nanowrimo, week two

I know I posted my week one post just last night – that was because I finally had time to finish it yesterday, which is a pretty lame excuse, I give you that – but here is week two for you.

Nanowrimo week two is generally known as hell week. It’s the second week of your novel writing endeavors and in week one you’re all pumped up and ready to go. So most people sail through it on a light breeze but to many week two feels like you’re struggling to get ahead with stormy winds blowing in your face.

I don’t know why I’m using boat, sail and wind references – maybe because I’ve watched Pirates of the Caribbean at Worlds End –  just flow with it. Anyway, statistically week two is the week in which most people stop writing. I guess it has something to do with the fact that your initial writing adrenaline starts to wear off and 50 000 words still seems really far away. At the same time so is the end of the month and I guess that week two is also the week in which you should really get into your story. Week one is basically the set up, by week two you should be getting into the flow of things. And I can imagine if that’s not the case that you might get worried and feel like it’s no use to keep on writing. But in all honesty I think that you should push through, don’t let things like that get in the way of writing. Nanowrimo is not really about quality more about quantity and you should have fun while you do it. When you edit – after November – that is when you should worry about style or pacing of your story. You can always take stuff out, later on. Or do like I do and make an un-used scene folder and chuck everything you don’t like into it. It still counts as word count and you can get it back whenever you need something from it or if you decide that you do want to include it. Like is said in my last post I have currently pieces from three different chapters in that folder. The build-up of the story was basically taking way too long and if I loose interest why would anyone else want to read it. So I put them in my un-used folder and started writing the third chapter again. And like I said it’s better this way, but I did write those other scenes so I am including them in my total word count.

I was kind of losing my interest in a way, not in the story specifically but in the way it was developing and I guess I could call it part of my hell week experience but that is certainly not how I viewed it. I made a choice, set aside what I didn’t need and continued writing and I haven’t stopped.

Though I did have some days were my writing didn’t flow as easily as I wanted it to go but that’s part of the game. Writing is a process and sometimes it goes well and there are days where you won’t get your word count. Key is to not give up and continue writing even if things go a little slower than you would have liked it to go.

This is my sixth time doing Nanowrimo and I have to say that so far I’ve been doing good. I’m right on target. Sometimes I’m a little ahead and sometimes I’m a little behind but all in all it’s going well. I guess that when it comes to word count this is actually the best I’ve done so far. Other years I’ve been a lot further behind than I have been at any point during this Nanowrimo.

Anyway I hope you’re all doing well and that you’ll keep on writing until the end of the month, because let’s face it you’ve survived hell week. You’re on day 15 so you’ve also survived the first half of the month which means you’re half way through Nanowrimo 2014!!! And at the same time you still have enough time left to kick some ass during this month.

And on that note it’s back to my novel to get those numbers in and hopefully get ahead of my word count!

2 thoughts on “Nanowrimo, week two

Leave a Reply

