Writing 101 – Day 11

Tell us about the home where you lived when you were twelve. Which town, city, or country? Was it a house or an apartment? A boarding school or foster home? An airstream or an RV? Who lived there with you?

The Daily Post / Writing 101, Day Eleven: Size matters

Home

This is a fun assignment, at twelve you’re at the such a turning point in your life. You’re still a kid, but you feel like you’re really something while at the same time – deep in your heart – you also realize that you’re not quite there yet. On one hand you want to be a child and on the other you want people to perceive you as an adult. It really is a defining moment, the age of twelve. At least that is what it felt like for me when I was twelve.

When I was eleven my grandparents decided that it was time for them to move to an apartment and leave the home they had been living in since my mother was still living at home, I think. Anyway, they had that house for a long time. But it was a rental home and in our country everyone has fair chance to get a rental house. There are of course rules but it’s not like selling a house. You can’t choose who you rent it too – since the house is technically . But my mother had an uncle who had some pull and he helped my parents to get the house.

So my grandparents moved out of the house and my family – my mom, dad, sister and I moved into my grandparents house. And to me that felt like coming home. I have no idea why but we used to live in a different town – the one I always lived in the one I grew up in. By all means it should have been my home. I never realized it before that moment – before we moved -but apparently my home never really was my home. So for me telling you about my home at the age of twelve feels really good, it’s a happy place. I had a wonderful time in that house, it was regular house, nothing special. It had three bedrooms and like in our old house I choose the smallest bedroom. I didn’t need much space, just a little room to store my belongings. I was twelve and Istarted to discover music, I can’t play any instruments but I loved listening to it and I must have spend countless hours in my room listening to music. My room, the walls … oh my God! At twelve they were covered with posters … Backstreet Boys posters. Yup, I was twelve and a girl … it was almost mandatory to like one of the boybands. I have no excuse!

And for me being twelve was the best age … it was right before my life fell apart (I had some really tough years at school – and that’s a really downplayed statement). I had a really happy childhood, I lived in a town. It wasn’t really big but it had everything you might need or want as a kid. A swimming pool, library, a mall, play grounds, a castle with water around it (on which we would ice skate in the winter time) and twice a year a fun fair. Some of my friends literally lived across our backyard and I had a lot of fun while I lived there. But this felt like something new, a new step in my young life. It felt good and I was ready to make a change.

And while being in a new place meant that I would have to go to a new school, make new friends and basically start my life anew. It felt better somehow. I guess that it might have had something to do with starting over and in a way finding my place in life. I felt so at home that I never imagined leaving that place again and yet I did.

I’m now 32 and by the way things have been going so far I’m going to have to move to another city by the end of next year. The first time I moved was at eleven and the second time was at 22 … maybe I should start thinking about where I’m going to move to. 😉

Leave a Reply

