Writing 101 – Day 3

Tuesday I didn’t have time to write, with work and yoga so I wanted to do this on Wednesday. But since Wednesday was a National Day of Mourning I decided against posting anything which celebrated something. It felt wrong to do that on such a day. So I waited till today to post this.

Today, celebrate three songs that are significant to you. For your twist, write for fifteen minutes without stopping — and build a writing habit.

The Daily Post / Writing 101, Day three – Commit to a Writing Practice

Three songs …

That seems like an undo-able task, I love music narrowing it down to three songs seems so unfair. There are a lot of things I can´t talk about which I would really like to share. Besides being as eclectic as I am there is so much music I love that it makes it even harder to choose just three. However I did make a choice, although I have to say that if you ask me again in an hour or two the songs I choose might be different songs altogether.

For now I choose these three songs, songs from which the lyrics have a really powerful meaning – at least to me they do.

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis ft. Mary Lambert – Same Love

This song I hope that the reason why I love it doesn’t really need to be explained. It shouldn’t have to be.

 

But I know how the world works so here it goes. It shouldn’t matter if you’re straight or gay, if you’re black or white, Catholic or Muslim. None of that should matter … what matters is who you are inside and what you stand for. This song is particularly about being gay or perceived as being gay. But it could really be about any sort of minority. I personally like people for who they are and if that particular person has a different view of the world than I have, I just see that as a positive thing. It could provide some really interesting conversations. That is basically how I see the world. Bigoted or close minded people in my eyes are just missing out. The world is such an interesting place and if you rule people out because of one little aspect of their life –  you’re missing out. Simple as that. If I tell someone I’m bisexual and suddenly they threat me differently, the fault is not with me. I’m still the same person, I didn’t change … you just got a new piece of information about me and suddenly I’m not being treated like a normal human being anymore. That just really shows where there problem lies. And this song gives some really good examples of how the world perceives people who are gay.

 

The right wing conservatives think it’s a decision
And you can be cured with some treatment and religion
Man-made rewiring of a predisposition

 

If being gay, bisexual, transgender or whatever people identify with was a choice I’m sure that a lot of people would choose differently. There is a lot of crap people get thrown at them (both literally as well as figuratively) and that is not something you willingly choose. However we choose to be happy and part being happy means that we don’t want to hide who we really are and who we love. And that is all we want, we want to be able to show our love to the people dear to us even if that person has the same gender. For a lot of people marriage means showing the world that you are committed to a certain person, that’s what we want too. And this song just means a lot to me in that aspect.

 

A word rooted in hate, yet our genre still ignores it
Gay is synonymous with the lesser
It’s the same hate that’s caused wars from religion
Gender to skin color, the complexion of your pigment
The same fight that led people to walk outs and sit ins
It’s human rights for everybody, there is no difference!
Live on and be yourself
I might not be the same, but that’s not important
No freedom ’til we’re equal, damn right I support it
When kids are walking ’round the hallway plagued by pain in their heart
A world so hateful some would rather die than be who they are
And a certificate on paper isn’t gonna solve it all
But it’s a damn good place to start
No law is gonna change us
We have to change us
Whatever God you believe in
We come from the same one
Strip away the fear
Underneath it’s all the same love
I stripped down the lyrics quite a bit but there is still enough left to show you the powerful message this trio wants to show the world.

 Beth Hart – Beautiful Child

 

I’m  a huge Beth Hart fan and there is absolutely no way that I was setting up list of songs (three in this case) without adding Beth Hart. No way. I choose a song which is a couple of years I think about five years old, give or take. It’s a funny song, but also one with a really deep meaning. Beth Hart doesn’t have children but she wrote this as if she was singing it to a child. The reason I chose this song is because it’s the perfect balance between funny and really powerful, it’s filled with good advice. Advice which anyone could take to heart.

 

Just remember my beautiful child
We’re just here for a little while
So live like your dying and laugh till you cry
And love yourself like I do my beautiful child
You will crash you will burn
When you do you will learn
Just like me in my youth

If it won’t cure you
It will surely make you smile
Just remember my beautiful child
We’re just here for a little while
So laugh like you’re crazy and dance in the aisle

And love yourself like I do
Forgive yourself if you have to
Choose yourself cause I do
Never loose yourself cause I love you my beautiful child

Wicked (Musical) – Defying Gravity

In Dutch (Willemijn Verkaik):

In English (Willemijn Verkaik);

In English (Idina Menzel and Kristin Chenoweth);

Ever since I’ve seen Rent (the musical movie) I’ve been in love with Idina Menzel. She a beautiful woman, a great actress and a phenomenal singer. So after seeing Rent I looked up what else she did and I found Wicked and without ever seeing the actual musical I ordered the soundtrack online I fell in love with the songs and her voice  …. just wow! So about two/three years ago I saw this billboard stating that Wicked was finally coming to the Netherlands – as a Dutch production of course. One part of me was kind of worried if the magic would hold up if I saw it in Dutch, since I knew the songs by heart in English – by Idina Menzel.  But I also knew that this was probably the only chance I had to actually see it on stage. And since everything and everyone had to be approved by the people who also did the Broadway show I just knew that I couldn’t pass this chance over. It had to be good if they gave their approval seeing how this show has been running for more than ten years on Broadway.

Eventually the names of the performers were announced and there was this woman Willemijn Verkaik – who I had actually never heard off. But apparently she had been playing Elphaba in Germany for three years even though she is Dutch (she’s actually from the next town over). Less than a month after the premiere I went to see Wicked at the theatre with my mother and sister and it was amazing! I was so much in awe, way more than I had expected beforehand because for years I had listened to the Idina Menzel version of the songs. Unfortunately there is no official Dutch Soundtrack, which sucks because I would have bought it no doubt about it.

I’ve been lucky enough to see the show twice, both times with Willemijn and both times she absolutely blew me away. WOW!

So this video up here is not from the actual musical but from a performance at some television show, because that video has better sound than most of the videos online because they were made in the theatre with mobile phones.

Oh yeah, Willemijn Verkaik is so good that she actually went on to play the role on Broadway (yes, the one in New York)  for a couple of weeks and on London’s West End. That is how talented this woman is!

 

Something has changed within me
Something is not the same
I’m through with playing by the rules
Of someone else’s game
Too late for second-guessing
Too late to go back to sleep
It’s time to trust my instincts
Close my eyes and leap!

It’s time to try
Defying gravity
I think I’ll try
Defying gravity
Kiss me goodbye
I’m defying gravity
And you won’t bring me down

So if you care to find me
Look to the western sky!
As someone told me lately,
“Everyone deserves the chance to fly!”

I’m defying gravity!
And you won’t bring me down, bring me down, bring me down!

 

And there you have it, three very different yet favorite songs of mine.

Leave a Reply

