Camp Nanowrimo

This is the first time I’m actually writing something down about Camp Nanowrimo. Last year I attempted to do Camp Nanowrimo, signed up for a cabin and all but it just wasn’t my thing. The other participants only commented on things I didn’t know anything about. Since I was writing fanfiction I was assigned to a cabin with a couple of people who wrote Japanese based fanfiction I think, Pokemon and Yu Gi Oh or something like that. Sorry, I don’t want to seem disrespectful but I really know not about it.  I write fanfiction about crime shows. The other participants were also a lot younger than I am – half my age almost. So we really had nothing in common and it didn’t motivate me at all, in fact it seemed to demotivate me more (is that even a word?).

I skipped April because that month is just too busy and I wasn’t really planning on participating right now. And honestly I hadn’t really thought about doing Camp in July but suddenly I realized that it might be a good idea to participate anyway. Even if I don’t make it I will still get some writing done and that’s what counts, right? That happened during the last write-in we had at the beginning of June. But not even my writer friends from the ‘Blue Unicorn’ group know that I’m actually participating. Actually no one knows. I’m one of those people who works best with a deadline, even if I set it myself by participating in Nanowrimo. So I set my goal to 25 000 words, which is half of what Nanowrimo and signed. But I didn’t sign up for a cabin this year. I think that it’s better to just focus on my writing for now, especially since this month is not really an ideal month either because of work. It’s a really busy month right before the vacation begins. But I really want to make some steps to move forward in my Criminal Minds fanfic. Which I’ve been working on for these past three years or so.

Mirrorland

For now I’ve completely abandoned my 2013 Nanowrimo story ‘Mirrorland’. Since November I’ve hardly even looked at this story or worked on it for that matter. I did some things in December and January but all in all it’s not really worth mentioning. I did do some research this past month, there was a graffiti festival in my hometown and I went there and made some pictures, watched how it all worked to get some inspiration for my story since a couple of my characters are part of a graffiti crew.

 

I’ve tried writing that particular story these past two Nanowrimo’s in three different versions but for some reason it’s just not working. While at the same time I’m still convinced that there is a story to tell. That’s a really annoying feeling! It’s there, it just won’t let me write it. Writing is difficult, it sounds so easy, but the things you have in mind don’t always translate to that well to actual writing. At least that’s what I’ve experienced and I’ve been writing for a long time. So for now I’ve decided to let that story rest and focus on other things.  And maybe one day I’ll pick it up again.  I’m not sure.

Maybe one day … maybe this is just not the right time and forcing it doesn’t really seem to be the best idea.

Some secrets are worth sharing

Which is why I’m now focusing on my fanfic. I want to finish that story – in all honesty it’s long overdue and I should really finish it for all of those people who’ve stuck by me. It hasn’t been easy I’m very aware of that. It’s been a slow project and I apologize for that. When I started writing the story I had a pretty big chunk written already and I thought that I would be able to keep up writing and posting at the same time but I’m not because I keep adding things to my story. Details and new story lines and angles I want to explore. I never thought that this story would become this huge! It’s right now 210 523 words long! According to this page on the Nanowrimo forum that’s even longer than Moby Dick! WHAT!!! That’s crazy. Yes, this really needs to be finished. And I still have a couple of things in store for future chapters.

We are now almost half way through the month and it’s going well. As said I set my goal to 25 000 words and I am nowhere near that goal but that’s fine, I’ve been writing and that’s what’s important. I’ve finished the next chapter, chapter 53 – which I haven’t posted yet. And I’m working hard on chapter 54. At the end of this chapter I’m planning on making a jump ahead time. So I need to make sure that these two chapters line up and deal in a proper way with all the loose ends before I make the jump ahead. So I have basically been going back and forth between chapter 53 and 54. Writing and editing both at the same time.

Right now I’ve managed to write 7312 words this month. I need to step it up if I want to reach my goal before the end of the month.

Leave a Reply

