It’s here! – NaNoWriMo 2013

While the last few hours before the witching hour on this Halloween’ eve tick by the start of NaNoWriMo is getting closer and closer with every minute that passes.

I’m going to say this now, I’ve been really looking forward to this day and I was planning on staying up and start writing at midnight till one like I did the other years. We would gather in the chat room and do Word Wars, share first sentences and word counts. And I love it. But that’s not going to happen, not today anyway. My sleeping pattern sucks! And I’m so tired that I think that it would be best if I go to bed early and try to catch up on my sleep. That’s the best course of action … which kind of sucks because I was really looking forward to it.

But since I have work tomorrow followed by a Yoga class in the evening I am choosing the smart thing. I have too, because I won’t be home before nine tomorrow evening. And right there is the second problem, I probably won’t be able to get much writing done tomorrow at all … so that’s a really good start. *insert sarcasm* Anyway, I’ll make that up during the weekend, or next week or the week after that … like a true procrastinator.

Nah, I’m just kidding it’s just that the first day has something special it’s a moment you have been waiting for and I’m not really able to get any writing done.

50 000 words

Anyway, that’s besides the point I got a whole month to get  50 000 words written and I will get it done in time. That really is my goal this year, get those 50 000 words written well before the end of the month. Now I am not going to say that I will  This is my fifth time and this time I want to be ready before the 30th of November. Because these past four years were touch and go, I just made it each and every time. The lowest amount of words was actually 50 004 – my first year at 20 minutes before midnight on the 30th. And I almost didn’t make it because the word count validator kept giving me a blank page. The other three years I made it with a little bit more time left on the clock but all in all I made it with ‘barely’ 50 000 words on the count.

So this is my tip to all new participants of NaNoWriMo (and maybe also some returning participants) don’t wait till the last-minute to validate your word count because the validator might not work because of overload since a lot of people are trying to validate on that last day.

To-do list

I tried to work on my to-do list and finished some things and changed a couple of things around;

  • Finish the timeline … as far as I can. Stuff will still need to be added while I’m writing so I can keep my facts straight. This is a work in progress … probably will be fore the whole month.
  • Finish the map, I need to figure out where everyone lives, maybe street names and distance from one another. I didn’t finish the map, I know where my main character lives and some other significant places but I have decided that it would be easier to fill it out while I write.
  • I need to develop the characters better, the graffiti crew and the geek squad – they are minor but important. I worked out the characters who are part of my main character inner circle – or who will become part of the inner-circle.
  • There is a special police task force in the Mirrorland, who are they and how do they track them. Are they the alternate versions of the cops who try to get the names of the other graffiti crew members from Kayleigh or are they someone else? I still have some time to figure this out, I will need this in the second part of the book.
  • That all important meeting with the Mirrorland alternates, how will that go?
  • Will Kayleigh find love? Yes, but will it be with Amy or someone else?
  • How will it end? There are some things which I hate when I watch a movie or read a book, so I know what I don’t want to happen. Which narrows down the options quite a bit.
Leave a Reply

